Sanctuary

This show came out in 2008 on the Sci-Fi (SyFy). I was looking forward to this show from the first commercial. I am a huge Amanda Tapping fan. I watched her in all ten seasons of Stargate SG-1. It is one of my favorite shows. Its line up with both Richard Dean Anderson and Amanda Tapping was perfect. SG-1 ended on 2007 after ten seasons and it made me sad because I grew to love every character in that show. It became a part of my life. I had been watching it since I was 6. It’s hard to let go of a show that is that close to your heart even if the show lost its feel around season eight (opinion). Anyways, I was looking forward to this show because it is exactly what SyFy needed after SG-1 was gone. The Story is based mainly off of two Characters Helen Magnus (Amanda Tapping) and Dr. William Zimmerman (Robin Dunne). The show told place in modern day in a mansion they call the Sanctuary. Its purpose is to provide Sanctuary for mythical beings that normal people believe are myths. It is ran by Magnus and a few of her close peers. She searches the world looking for these beings trying to find them a safe place to stay or getting them out of the real world so that they don’t hurt anyone.

The show went on for four seasons so some people might think that it had its time. I believe that it is the opposite. The show ended with so many possibilities. I don’t want to go into great detail due to spoilers but it had more of a story to tell.  On top of all that the show was to continue. They said that there would be another season but it got canceled in the summer before the show began. The reason, I have found, is that no one picked up the series for the new season. So they wanted to try for a new season but nothing came together. What are your thoughts on this show choice and how it died? Do you believe the same as me, or something different?

Informative Articles to reference:

http://scifi.about.com/od/sanctuarynewsandreviews/a/Its-Official-Sanctuary-Is-Closed.htm

http://www.gateworld.net/news/2012/05/sanctuary-cancelled-after-four-seasons/

Leave a Reply

